Jay-Z: ‘I get texts from President Obama, of course’

The rapper and the US President are close friends and Jay-Z revealed he exchanges text messages with the Commander-in-Chief. He told Angie Martinez the host of New York City radio station HOT97: “I’ve spoken to him on the phone and had texts from Obama. Of course.

US Rapper Jay Z

US Rapper Jay Z

“I’ve spoken to him on the phone and had texts from Obama. Of course,” he said. “He’s a regular guy as well. He’s very heavy into sports so a lot of his analogies end up in sports.”

US President Barack Obama

US President Barack Obama

Asked for an example, Jay-Z continued: “I don’t know if this is breaching national security but when he was getting elected the second time, he was like, ‘Hey, you know, off-courter, just give me the ball,’ I said, ‘word’.”

Jay Z,Beyonce and President Obama

Jay Z,Beyonce and President Obama


Martinez asked Jay-Z if he ever feels like stepping in when he sees Rihanna doing something he might not approve off. Discussing the singer, whom he has mentored, Jay-Z responded: “That’s not my place, no; again, I can’t control the outcome of her life. I can’t intervene, I can give advice when asked and that’s it. I can provide information and then life has to play out, life has to happen.”

Posted on July 14, 2013, in NEWS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

